Llanthony Priory is a picturesque dissolved Augustinian priory, located in the Black Mountains area of the Brecon Beacons National Park in South Wales. Founded in the early 1100's by William de Lacy, it was a victim of Henry VIII's dissolution of monestary's throughout Britain, and today stands as a majestic ruin within the rugged yet beautiful Vale of Eywas. The Augustinians, named after Saint Augustine of Hippo (died AD 430), are several Roman Catholic monastic orders and congregations of both men and women living according to a guide to religious life known as the Rule of Saint Augustine. ... There are several mountain ranges named the Black Mountains. ... Part of the Brecon Beacons National Park, looking from the highest point Pen y Fan, 886 m (2907 feet), to Corn Du, 873 m (2864 feet) The Brecon Beacons National Park is one of three national parks in Wales. ... For an explanation of often confusing terms such as Great Britain, Britain, United Kingdom and England, see British Isles (terminology). ... Henry VIII (28 June 1491 â 28 January 1547) was King of England and Lord of Ireland (later King of Ireland) from 22 April 1509 until his death. ...
The priory had a sister monestary in Gloucester, also called Llanthony Priory (Llanthony Secunda). Gloucester (pronounced ) is a city and district in south-west England, close to the Welsh border. ...
For an excellent write-up, along with some lovely photographs see: http://www.castlewales.com/llantho.html
More details are available from the Gloucester City Council website
Llanthony Secunda Priory is a hidden gem in the heart of an industrial landscape, the remains of a mediaeval priory of Augustinian Canons.
It is today called Llanthony (pronounced 'Lantony') Secunda Priory to differentiate it from the original LlanthonyPriory in South Wales.Today only a few stone, brick and timber-framed structures bear witness to the past glories of this important scheduled ancient monument in the care of Gloucester City Council.
The priory was dissolved in 1538, despite the fact that Henry VII had stayed there in 1501, when he raised the priro to become Archbishop of Canterbury.
Llanthony retained the manor until the Dissolution, after which the demesne farm and site of the manor, at Alvington Court, formed a separate estate, though it was in the same ownership again for parts of the 18th century.
Llanthonypriory's manor house at Alvington was recorded from the late 14th century, when between 1377 and 1401 repairs or alterations to a principal chamber, a lesser chamber, and outbuildings were made.
Llanthonypriory claimed its manor of Alvington to be free of suit to Bledisloe hundred, and exemption was confirmed by the lord of the hundred in 1244 after his officers had attempted to exact suit.
Share your thoughts, questions and commentary here
Want to know more? Search encyclopedia, statistics and forums:
Press Releases |
The Wikipedia article included on this page is licensed under the
Images may be subject to relevant owners' copyright.
All other elements are (c) copyright NationMaster.com 2003-5. All Rights Reserved.
Usage implies agreement with terms, 1022, m