FACTOID # 21: 15% of Army recruits from South Dakota are Native American, which is roughly the same percentage for female Army recruits in the state.
 
 Home   Encyclopedia   Statistics   States A-Z   Flags   Maps   FAQ   About 
   
 
WHAT'S NEW
 

SEARCH ALL

FACTS & STATISTICS    Advanced view

Search encyclopedia, statistics and forums:

 

 

(* = Graphable)

 

 


Encyclopedia > Gordon R. Dickson
Gordon Dickson lecturing.

Gordon Rupert Dickson (November 1, 1923January 31, 2001) was an American science fiction author. He was born in Canada, then moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota as a teenager. He is probably most famous for his Childe Cycle and the Dragon Knight series. He won three Hugo awards. Gordon R. Dickson at Minicon 8, 1974 File history Legend: (cur) = this is the current file, (del) = delete this old version, (rev) = revert to this old version. ... November 1 is the 305th day of the year (306th in leap years) in the Gregorian calendar, with 60 days remaining. ... Year 1923 (MCMXXIII) was a common year starting on Monday (link will display the full calendar) of the Gregorian calendar. ... January 31 is the 31st day of the year in the Gregorian calendar. ... Year 2001 (MMI) was a common year starting on Monday of the Gregorian calendar. ... Science fiction is a form of speculative fiction principally dealing with the impact of imagined science and technology, or both, upon society and persons as individuals. ... Nickname: Motto: En Avant (French: Forward) Location in Hennepin County and the state of Minnesota Coordinates: , Country United States State Minnesota Counties Hennepin Government  - Mayor R.T. Rybak (DFL) Area  - City 58. ... Capital Saint Paul Largest city Minneapolis Area  Ranked 12th  - Total 87,014 sq mi (225,365 km²)  - Width 250 miles (400 km)  - Length 400 miles (645 km)  - % water 8. ... The Childe Cycle is a series of science fiction novels by Gordon R. Dickson. ... The Dragon Knight is a series of fantasy novels by Gordon R. Dickson. ... The 2005 Hugo Award with base designed by Deb Kosiba. ...

Contents

Biographical timeline

November 1 is the 305th day of the year (306th in leap years) in the Gregorian calendar, with 60 days remaining. ... Year 1923 (MCMXXIII) was a common year starting on Monday (link will display the full calendar) of the Gregorian calendar. ... Edmonton is the capital of the Canadian province of Alberta, situated in the north central region of the province, an area with some of the most fertile farm land on the prairies. ... Motto: Fortis et liber(Latin) Strong and free Capital Edmonton Largest city Calgary Official languages English (see below) Government - Lieutenant-Governor Norman Kwong - Premier Ed Stelmach (PC) Federal representation in Canadian Parliament - House seats 28 - Senate seats 6 Confederation September 1, 1905 (split from Northwest Territories) (8th [Province]) Area Ranked... 1936 (MCMXXXVI) was a leap year starting on Wednesday (link will take you to calendar). ... 1937 (MCMXXXVII) was a common year starting on Friday (link will take you to calendar). ... Year 1943 (MCMXLIII) was a common year starting on Friday (the link will display full 1943 calendar) of the Gregorian calendar. ... Year 1946 (MCMXLVI) was a common year starting on Tuesday (link will display full 1946 calendar) of the Gregorian calendar. ... The United States Army is the largest branch of the armed forces of the United States. ... 1948 (MCMXLVIII) was a leap year starting on Thursday (the link is to a full 1948 calendar). ... A B.A. issused as a certificate Bachelor of Arts (B.A., BA or A.B.), from the Latin Artium Baccalaureus is an undergraduate bachelors degree awarded for either a course or a program in the liberal arts or the sciences, or both. ... Washington Avenue Bridge at night The University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, almost always abbreviated U of M, and sometimes referred to as The U by locals, is the oldest and largest part of the University of Minnesota system. ... 1948 (MCMXLVIII) was a leap year starting on Thursday (the link is to a full 1948 calendar). ... Year 1950 (MCML) was a common year starting on Sunday (link will display the full calendar) of the Gregorian calendar. ... January 31 is the 31st day of the year in the Gregorian calendar. ... Year 2001 (MMI) was a common year starting on Monday of the Gregorian calendar. ...

Selected bibliography

Childe Cycle

  • The Genetic General (1960) (restored variant title: Dorsai!, 1976)
  • Necromancer (1962) (variant title: No Room for Man)
  • Warrior (1965)(short story) included in Lost Dorsai
  • Soldier, Ask Not (1967)
  • Tactics of Mistake (1971)
  • The Spirit of Dorsai (1979)
  • Lost Dorsai (1980)
  • The Final Encyclopedia (1984)
  • The Dorsai Companion (1986)
  • The Chantry Guild (1988)
  • Young Bleys (1991)
  • Other (1994)
  • Antagonist (with David W. Wixon) (2007)

The Childe Cycle is an unfinished series of science fiction novels by Gordon R. Dickson. ... This article needs to be cleaned up to conform to a higher standard of quality. ... Tactics of Mistake is a science fiction novel written by Gordon R. Dickson and published in 1971. ...

Dragon Knight series

  • The Dragon and the George (1976)
  • The Dragon Knight (1990)
  • The Dragon on the Border (1992)
  • The Dragon at War (1992)
  • The Dragon, the Earl, and the Troll (1994)
  • The Dragon and the Djinn (1996)
  • The Dragon and the Gnarly King (1997)
  • The Dragon in Lyonesse (1998)
  • The Dragon and the Fair Maid of Kent (2000)

The Dragon and the George is a 1976 fantasy novel by Gordon R. Dickson, the first in his Dragon Knight series. ... Fans of The Dragon and The George will enjoy this novel that continues the adventures of Jim, Angie, and friends in an alternate 14-century reality. ...

Hoka series

  • Earthman’s Burden (1957) (with Poul Anderson) (variant title: Hoka! Hoka! Hoka!)
  • Hoka! (1983) (with Poul Anderson)
  • Star Prince Charlie (1983) (with Poul Anderson)
  • Hokas Pokas (2000) (with Poul Anderson) (includes Star Prince Charlie)

Poul William Anderson (November 25, 1926–July 31, 2001) was an American science fiction author of the genres Golden Age. ...

Novels

  • Alien from Arcturus (1956) (expanded as Arcturus Landing)
  • Mankind on the Run (1956) (variant title: On the Run, 1979)
  • Time to Teleport (1960)
  • Naked to the Stars (1961)
  • Spacial Delivery (1961)
  • Delusion World (1961)
  • The Alien Way (1965)
  • The Space Winners (1965)
  • Mission to Universe (1965) (rev. 1977)
  • The Space Swimmers (1967)
  • Planet Run (1967) (with Keith Laumer)
  • Spacepaw (1969)
  • Wolfling (1969)
  • None But Man (1969)
  • Hour of the Horde (1970)
  • Sleepwalkers’ World (1971)
  • The Outposter (1972)
  • The Pritcher Mass (1972)
  • Alien Art (1973)
  • The R-Master (1973) (rev. as The Last Master, 1984)
  • Gremlins, Go Home (1974) (with Ben Bova)
  • The Lifeship (variant title: Lifeboat) (1977) (with Harry Harrison)
Time Storm (1977), 1982 Sphere paperback edition. 362 pages
  • Time Storm (1977)
  • The Far Call (1978)
  • Home from the Shore (1978)
  • Pro (1978)
  • Masters of Everon (1980)
  • The Man from Earth (1983)
  • The Last Master (1984)
  • Jamie the Red (1984) (with Roland Green)
  • Steel Brother (1985)
  • The Forever Man (1986)
  • Way of the Pilgrim (1987)
  • The Earth Lords (1989)
  • Wolf and Iron (1990)
  • The Magnificent Wilf (1995)
  • The Right to Arm Bears (2000) omnibus of Spacial Delivery, Spacepaw, etc.

A Plague of Demons typifies Laumers fast-paced approach, with a protagonist given super human powers by surgery battling against alien dog-creatures and their apparently human allies. ... Benjamin William Bova (born November 8, 1932) is an American science fiction author and editor. ... At the 63rd World Science Fiction Convention in Glasgow, August 2005 Harry Harrison (born Henry Maxwell Dempsey, March 12, 1925 in Stamford, Connecticut) is an American science fiction author who has lived in many parts of the world including Mexico, England, Denmark and Italy. ... Image File history File links Download high-resolution version (420x616, 28 KB) This image is of a book cover, and the copyright for it is most likely owned either by the artist who created the cover or the publisher of the book. ... Image File history File links Download high-resolution version (420x616, 28 KB) This image is of a book cover, and the copyright for it is most likely owned either by the artist who created the cover or the publisher of the book. ... Roland Green is a mountain bike and road bicycle racer. ... The Right to Arm Bears is a science fiction novel by Gordon R. Dickson. ...

Short story collections

  • Delusion World (1961) (novella)
  • Danger – Human (1970) (as The Book of Gordon Dickson, 1973)
  • Mutants (1970)
  • The Star Road (1973)
  • Ancient, My Enemy (1974)
  • Gremlins, Go Home! (1974) (with Ben Bova)
  • Gordon R. Dickson’s SF Best (1978) (revised as In The Bone, 1987)
  • In Iron Years (1980)
  • Love Not Human (1981)
  • The Man from Earth (1983)
  • Dickson! (1984) (revised as Steel Brother)
  • Survival! (1984)
  • Forward! (1985)
  • Beyond the Dar Al-Harb (1985)
  • Invaders! (1985)
  • The Man the Worlds Rejected (1986)
  • Mindspan (1986)
  • The Last Dream (1986)
  • The Stranger (1987)
  • Guided Tour (1988)
  • Beginnings (1988)
  • Ends (1988)

Benjamin William Bova (born November 8, 1932) is an American science fiction author and editor. ...

Children's books

  • Secret under the Sea (1960)
  • Secret under Antarctica (1963)
  • Secret under the Caribbean (1964)
  • Secrets of the Deep (1985) omnibus of the three above

Awards

Hugo Awards
  • "Soldier, Ask Not" for best short story, 1965[citation needed]
  • Lost Dorsai for best novella, 1981
  • "The Cloak and the Staff" for best novelette, 1981
Nebula Award
  • "Call Him Lord" for best novelette, 1966

The 2005 Hugo Award with base designed by Deb Kosiba. ... 1965 (MCMLXV) was a common year starting on Friday (the link is to a full 1965 calendar). ... Year 1981 (MCMLXXXI) was a common year starting on Thursday (link displays the 1981 Gregorian calendar). ... Year 1981 (MCMLXXXI) was a common year starting on Thursday (link displays the 1981 Gregorian calendar). ... The Nebula is an award given each year by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA), for the best science fiction/fantasy fiction published in the United States during the two previous years (see rolling eligibility below). ... 1966 (MCMLXVI) was a common year starting on Saturday (the link is to a full 1966 calendar). ...

External links


 
 

COMMENTARY     


Share your thoughts, questions and commentary here
Your name
Your comments

Want to know more?
Search encyclopedia, statistics and forums:

 


Press Releases |  Feeds | Contact
The Wikipedia article included on this page is licensed under the GFDL.
Images may be subject to relevant owners' copyright.
All other elements are (c) copyright NationMaster.com 2003-5. All Rights Reserved.
Usage implies agreement with terms, 1022, m